EBO – European Board of Ophthalmology

European Board of Ophthalmology (EBO)

Administrative Contact Office:
Lorraine O Hagan
European Board of Ophthalmology
Temple House
Temple Road
Co. Dublin

Phone: +353 1 2091100
Fax: +353 1 2091112



The European Board of Ophthalmology (EBO) was founded in 1992 in London. It is a permanent working group of the Ophthalmology Subspecialty Section of the European Union of Medical Specialists (UEMS).

The Board has specifically been given the task of overseeing the standard of ophthalmology training. The National Delegates of the Board include clinicians and academicians with specific ophthalmological skills, expertice and a broad geographic distribution. Two delegates are nominated from each country of the European Union, Norway and Switzerland by the National Ophthalmological Societies. One delegate represents academic ophthalmology and one represents the professional practitioners. The delegates are chosen for a four year term. One additional four-year term is permitted.